UB Women's Gymnastics Claims Eleventh Straight ECAC Division II Title

UB Women's Gymnastics Claims Eleventh Straight ECAC Division II Title

Bridgeport, Conn.-The University of Bridgeport women's gymnastics team took home its eleventh straight ECAC Division II title on Saturday afternoon at home in the Wheeler Recreation Center, as the Purple Knights posted a team score of 195.150 to top West Chester University and Southern Connecticut State. Saturday's 2019 ECAC title is number 22 in the program's storied history. West Chester took second place on Saturday with a team score of 193.200 and SCSU was third with a total of 190.900.

The Purple Knights won three of four events on Saturday posting a 49.150 on the bars, a 49.125 in the floor exercise, a 48.700 on the vault plus a 48.175 on the bars.

Freshmen Julianna Roland (Lumberton, N.J.), who was named the 2019 ECAC Women's Gymnastics Rookie of the Year, won Saturday's all-around crown with a score of 39.175 in the four events, as she tied for first in the floor exercise (9.850-career high), took first on the vault (9.875), finished seventh on the beam (9.750) and tied for eighth on the bars (9.700).

Bridgeport took the top four spots on the vault, as freshman Crystal Gwinn (New Port Richey, Fla.) was second behind Roland at 9.825, sophomore Gabrielle Kistner (Raleigh, N.C.) took third at 9.725 and freshman Varvara Diakakis (Dix Hills, N.Y.) grabbed fourth with a 9.700.

Gwinn joined Roland and junior Maya Reimers (New York, N.Y.) tying for first in the floor exercise at 9.850.

UB went one-two on the bars as graduate student Kelli Tereshko (Madison, Indiana) took first with a score of 9.875, and senior Kelly Aycock (Locust Grove, Ga.) was second at 9.850.

On the balance beam sophomore Kathryn Doran (Oakville, Ontario, Canada) and Reimers were the top Bridgeport finishers tying for fourth place posting scores of 9.775.

UB senior Delaney Cahill (Medford Lakes, N.J.) was also recognized following Saturday's ECAC Division II Championship Meet, as she was named the conference's co-Scholar Athlete of the Year.