UB Women's Soccer Places Eight On 2018 All-East Coast Conference Teams

UB Women's Soccer Places Eight On 2018 All-East Coast Conference Teams

West Babylon, N.Y.-Eight members of the University of Bridgeport women's soccer team have earned places on the 2018 All-East Coast Conference teams in a vote of league coaches that was announced today, and three Purple Knights also received major conference recognition in junior, forward Maegen Doyle (Harwich, England), who was named ECC Women's Soccer Offensive Player of the Year, freshman, midfielder Anisha Hill (Woking, England), who was chosen ECC Women's Soccer Rookie of the Year plus head coach Magnus Nilerud was named conference Coach of the Year by his peers.

Doyle, one of the leading scorers in the nation with 23 goals and three assists for 49 points, spearheads a Bridgeport offense that has netted 58 goals so far in 2018.

Hill has made a positive impact on her team's fortunes scoring seven goals and adding two assists for 16 points out of the Purple Knights' midfield.

Nilerud, in his twentieth season as his alma mater's bench boss, leads a team that captured both the East Coast Conference regular season and championship tournament titles.  This year marks his third ECC Coach of the Year honor in the last four years and seventh in his tenure at Bridgeport.

Four Purple Knights were named First Team All-Conference in Doyle at forward, junior Elin Eklund (Gothenburg, Sweden) in the midfield and senior Karoline Vieira (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil), for the second straight season and freshman Annie Bjork (Malmo, Sweden).

Two UB players received Second Team All-ECC nods in Hill in midfield and junior Nara DaCosta (Pancas, Brazil) at forward.

Senior goalkeeper Jennifer Wendelius (Lidingo, Sweden) and freshman midfielder Karin Oberg (Thorildsplans, Sweden) earned spots on the Third Team All-East Coast Conference women's soccer team.

The University of Bridgeport women's soccer team (14-4-1 overall and 8-1-0 in the ECC) will continue its 2018 season in the NCAA Division II National Championship Tournament this weekend.

2018 ECC Women's Soccer All-Conference

First Team
F – Jamie Boyar, Jr., Daemen
F – Maegen Doyle, Jr., Bridgeport
F – Haley Noble, Sr., Mercy
M – Gabrielle Clark, Jr., LIU Post
M – Celia De Pablo Esteban, So., Daemen
M – Elin Eklund, Jr., Bridgeport
M – Natalia Elizarraras, Jr., Mercy
B – Annie Bjork, Fr., Bridgeport
B – Rebecca Conway, Sr., Mercy
B – Karoline Vieira, Sr., Bridgeport
GK – Hillevi Eklow, Sr., LIU Post

Second Team
F – Nara DaCosta, Jr., Bridgeport
F – Julia Duffy, Jr., LIU Post
F – Casey Luongo, So., NYIT
M – Nikki Bermudez, So., NYIT
M – Fernanda Castro, Fr., Mercy
M – Anisha Hill, Fr., Bridgeport
M – Erin O'Connor, So., LIU Post
B – Samantha Gordon, So., LIU Post
B – Jess Hawley, Sr., NYIT
B – Alice Schonfeldt, R-Jr., LIU Post
GK – Melissa Torres, So., Mercy

Third Team
F – Hannah Franco, Fr., NYIT
F – Kendra Oldroyd, Fr., LIU Post
F – Anicia Reyes, Fr., Mercy
M – Terese Markelund, Fr., LIU Post
M – Mekenzi Moreau, So., St. Thomas Aquinas
M – Karin Oberg, Fr., Bridgeport
M – Maggie Thibault, Fr., NYIT
B – Sydney Cooper, Fr., Mercy
B – Sam D'Agostino, So., Daemen
B – Trista Seara, Jr., Mercy
GK – Jennifer Wendelius, Sr., Bridgeport

Offensive Player of the Year: Maegen Doyle, Jr., F, Bridgeport
Defensive Player of the Year: Rebecca Conway, Sr., D, Mercy
Goalkeeper of the Year: Hillevi Eklow, GK, LIU Post
Rookie of the Year: Anisha Hill, Fr., M, Bridgeport
Coach of the Year: Magnus Nilerud, Bridgeport